« Top iOS apps and games of the week #35

Here's how to stop Facebook from using your WhatsApp user data

|August 27, 2016 |Mobile Apps, facebook, WhatsApp, How-to

"For a limited time, you can choose if you want to share your WhatsApp data with Facebook"

Recently, popular instant messaging service WhatsApp updated its privacy policy for the first time in a span of four years in order to allow for deeper integration with its parent company, Facebook. The move however didn't go well with users, as it meant that WhatsApp will now share user information with Facebook and the ‘Facebook family of companies’.


Fortunately, you can choose if you want to share your information or not, though the option to do so is not as straightforward as it should be. Firstly, if you haven't agreed to the new terms yet, then all you need to do is tap on "Read" to view the new privacy policy. This option pops up in the WhatsApp app. Here you can uncheck the box if you don't want your information to be shared with Facebook. Furthermore, you can still opt out of the new terms even if you have agreed to the new privacy policy. In order to do so, in WhatsApp, you need to head to Settings > Account and then deselect "Share my account info". 


Do note that the above option will only be available for 30 days since the time you agreed to the new terms, and once deselected, it cannot be selected again. More details regarding the amendments to WhatsApp’s terms of service are available on its FAQ page here.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Follow Us

Top Mobiles