Delete Snapchat account: Snapchat is probably the least popular of social media apps in the country now, having less than 1/3rd of users that WhatsApp and Facebook have. Most of its userbase are from countries like the US, parts of Europe, and other Middle East Asian markets. But steadily, Snapchat has brought its focus towards markets like India, by localising its content, features and more. So, if you had created a Snapchat account many years back, and don’t see the point of having one now, we look at how to delete Snapchat account and make sure the data stored on the platform is safe and secure with you. In this article, we not only look at how to delete Snapchat account, but also how to reactivate Snapchat account if you decide to get back to it later.
Snapchat account delete
Snapchat is giving users the right to delete or deactivate their account. The process is simple, and all they have to do is login using their credentials into the Accounts page. Here is how you can delete Snapchat account.
How to delete Snapchat account
- Open Snapchat account on web browser
- Login with your details
- Click on Delete my Account on the Manage My Account page
- Confirm you want to delete the account by re-entering your username and password
- Click on Continue
- You can try to login with your details to check the status of account
How to reactivate Snapchat account
The good thing about deleting Snapchat account is that it does not instantly get deleted. So, if you have a change of heart and want to use the Snapchat account again, there is an easy way to reactivate the Snapchat account.
All you have to do is log in to your Snapchat account within 30 days of deletion. This way you can ensure the account and all the data residing on it will be completely restored in up to 24 hours after sending the request. You need to log in using the existing password, and after deactivation of account you cannot change/reset password. So keep a note of the current password to reactivate the Snapchat account.
How to download Snapchat data before deleting account
When you sign up to platforms like Snapchat, the app asks for your personal details like name, e-mail address, phone number, and more. All these details are saved on the account. So, when you delete Snapchat account, you must retrieve all the data available to Snapchat. Follow these steps to download Snapchat data:
- Go to Snapchat account on web browser
- Log in with your username and password
- Click on My Data in the Manage my Account page
- Click on Submit request at the bottom of page
- Snapchat will send an email to your registered account
- Click on the link to download Snapchat data
- My Data download will be saved on your PC in zip file format
What data can be downloaded from Snapchat account
Snapchat allows you to download data before deleting the account permanently. These are the categories of data that are available for download.
- Login history and account information
- User and public profiles
- Snap & Chat history
- Purchase and shop history
- Snapchat support history
- Search history
Please note: To download Snapchat account data you need to access the Snapchat account from the web portal. This process will not be available on the mobile app.
Can I reactivate my Snapchat account after 30 days?
No, Snapchat account reactivation is only available for 30 days. After that, your account will be deactivated and not accessible to you.
Can I delete Snapchat account from mobile?
Snapchat account deletion is only possible through Snapchat account web portal. The mobile app does not offer you the option to delete Snapchat account.
Can you permanently delete Snapchat account?
Yes, by using the Snapchat account web portal you can follow the aforementioned steps to delete Snapchat account permanently.