Google to stop automatic syncing of files between Drive and Photos

“Google says the move is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across platforms”

At its current state, Google syncs photos and videos between Drive and Photos automatically. However, that’s going to change from July 10th as Mountain View giant announced that it would no longer sync or delete files uploaded to Photos and Drive. This means users will have to upload and delete files manually each time. Google says the move comes after feedback from users who claimed to have confused over the connection between the two services and is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across platforms.

Google Photos - Featured

Furthermore, on the Photos website, there’s a new feature called “Upload from Drive,” which lets users manually choose photos and videos from Drive, including “Shared with Me” items, to import into Photos. Once copied, these items are not connected to each other anymore. Moreover, the photos and videos copied in Original Quality will count towards users’ storage quota in both Drive and Photos.

Users’ will still be able to use ‘Backup and Sync’ on Windows or macOS to upload to both services in High Quality or Original Quality. Like before, photos and videos uploaded in High Quality won’t count against your account storage quota. Existing photos and videos will stay on Google Drive and Google Photos.

In a blog post, Google said, “Our goal with these changes is to simplify some features that caused confusion for our users, based on feedback and our own research. We’ll continue to look for more ways to help support Drive and Photos users going forward.”

Sai Krishna is a close follower of tech and everything that has the word 'smart' involved. This makes him passionate to write about everything revolving around the world of technology. He can always be seen surfing the web and while he’s not working, you can find him re-watching Seinfeld and reading comics.
Facebook Comments
SOURCEGoogle