Netflix stops password sharing in India: check new rules, how to transfer profile, and more

Netflix has begun cracking down on password sharing in India. The streaming giant officially announced on Thursday that users in India will no longer be able to share their accounts with people outside of their households. This comes just a day after Netflix reported that it added nearly 6 million new subscribers after introducing its password-sharing crackdown in countries like the US and Canada back in May.

Netflix password sharing rules in India

Netflix has made it clear that a Netflix account is only meant to be used by one household. “Everyone living in that household can use Netflix wherever they are — at home, on the go, on holiday — and take advantage of new features like Transfer Profile and Manage Access and Devices,” the streaming platform states on its website.

The new policy means only those who are part of your ‘Netflix Household’ will be able to access your account. The company says it will use information such as IP addresses, device IDs, and account activity to determine if a device is part of your household. This process begins by first setting up a Netflix Household i.e. the user’s primary house where they will be using the account from. After that, only those who use the same internet connection will be able to access the account. Those who are borrowing a Netflix password outside the household will get a notification when they try to log in that prompts them to create their own account.

How to manage Netflix Household

Here are the steps to create your Netflix Household:

  • On your TV, head to Netflix and the Get Help option on the bottom right section of the UI.
  • Click on Manage Netflix Household.
  • The next screen will ask you to confirm if the TV is in your Netflix Household.
  • Once you click on Confirm Netflix Household, Netflix will ask you to verify the account is yours through email or mobile text.
  • After selecting either your registered email or mobile number, you will receive a text asking you to click on a link.
  • Doing so will take you to a page where it will show you devices that are connected to the same internet connection.

  • Click on Confirm Netflix Household.
  • Now, only devices that use the same internet connection will be able to access your account.

How to transfer Netflix profile

To transfer a Netflix profile from your account to a new account, here’s what you need to do:

  • Go to the Netflix app on your smartphone or the Netflix website on your laptop.
  • Sign in and head to the profile you want to transfer.
  • Go to Settings and you will see a new ‘transfer this profile’ option.
  • This will take you to a page that details that transfering a profile will entail transfering recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, settings, and more.
  • Once you click on Start Profile Transfer, Netflix will ask you if you want to transfer the profile to a new account or an existing account.
  • If you transfer to a new account, you will need to buy a new Netflix membership.
  • If you transfer to an existing account, you will need the email and password to complete the transfer.

No posts to display