- WhatsApp rolls out new ‘group admin’ feature
- Allows admin to delete any message for everyone in the group
- Aims to help in better moderation of group chats
Meta’s very own instant messaging app WhatsApp is preparing to release a new feature that will enable the ‘group admin’ to delete any message for everyone. According to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo, once an admin deletes a message, the other users will see the ‘This was deleted by an admin’ text. It means that other people can always see that the admin has deleted something. The website also shared a screenshot of the new feature, “Admin Delete”.
This move is intended to improve the user interface and is currently only available to some beta testers. However, soon it will be made available by Meta for more WhatsApp beta users. The new feature will roll out through the Google Play Beta Program, with the version up to 184.108.40.206. That said, some users might be able to find the feature after installing the previous update.
How to check if the ‘group admin’ feature is available for your WhatsApp account
It’s simple to check the availability of this feature, open the group in which you are an admin, try deleting any message sent by any member, and see if the option “delete for everyone” appears or not. If yes, the feature is available for you!