WhatsApp new privacy policy changes make Facebook data sharing mandatory

WhatsApp has updated its privacy policy and terms of services to reflect how it collects and shares information with Facebook and its subsidiaries.

Highlights
  • WhatsApp updates privacy policy and terms of service to better integrate it with Facebook
  • The new changes will come into effect from February 8th
  • WhatsApp has informed iOS and Android users about the changes through a full-screen app notice

WhatsApp updated its privacy policy and terms of services earlier today to better integrate it with Facebook and its other services. The Facebook-owned company has informed iOS and Android users about the changes that will come into effect from February 8th, 2021 through a full-screen app notice with an option to agree, which then proceeds to the usual chat menu. WhatsApp’s privacy policy and terms of service microsites offer additional information on how it collects and handles user data, transactions and payments, connections, media, device and connection information, as well as location information. It also includes a specific section for business interactions done through the popular messaging app.

WhatsApp-privacy-policy

WhatsApp has updated its privacy policy and terms of services to reflect how it shares information with Facebook and its subsidiaries. “The information we share with the other Facebook Companies includes your account registration information (such as your phone number), transaction data, service-related information, information on how you interact with others (including businesses) when using our Services, mobile device information, your IP address, and may include other information identified in the Privacy Policy section entitled ‘Information We Collect’ or obtained upon notice to you or based on your consent,” said WhatsApp in its FAQ section.

WhatsApp had earlier given users a choice to either share their WhatsApp account information with Facebook or not. However, that doesn’t seem to be the case this time. Users will require to accept the updates to continue using the app on their devices or as WhatsApp says, “users can visit the help centre if they prefer to delete the account.” Meaning if users won’t accept the changes, they can no longer access the app, thereby making these changes mandatory.