- WhatsApp is working on two new features — screen-sharing and usernames.
- Screen-sharing is available for WhatsApp beta users on Android. Usernames are still under development though.
- Here’s a detailed look at the upcoming WhatsApp features.
WhatsApp recently introduced a highly-requested feature by users which is the ability to edit messages, and it continues to work on more features. It is currently testing screen-sharing, and this feature is already available to select beta testers. WhatsApp is also working on usernames but this feature is currently under development.
As the name suggests, this feature will essentially let you share your phone’s screen during video calls. Those familiar with Zoom and Google Meet calls will know how this feature works. It’s also available on FaceTime which is a more relatable example as you can share your iPhone’s screen when on video call. According to WABetaInfo, screen-sharing is available on the WhatsApp beta app for Android.
How to screen-share on WhatsApp
- If you’re on WhatsApp beta and have the feature, you will see a new screen-sharing button on the bottom navigation bar.
- Once you tap on that a pop-up screen will appear asking if you want to start recording or cast with WhatsApp.
- You can press the ‘start now’ button to start sharing your screen on WhatsApp.
The prompt that appears when you start screen-sharing gives off a wrong message. It says that WhatsApp will have access to everything that you’re recording or casting from your phone. This includes information such as passwords, payment details, photos, messages, and audio that will play. WhatsApp is expected to provide more clarity on the privacy bit when the feature is officially announced.
WhatsApp is also working on usernames, a feature that will possibly work similar to Telegram usernames. In addition to the name you can add on your WhatsApp account, you will be able to add a unique username. How this feature will work is still unclear but WABetaInfo expects it to act as an alternative for phone numbers.
This means that people might be able to find and add you through your usernames instead of phone numbers. Unlike screen-sharing, this feature is still under development so it’s not available even to beta testers yet.