WhatsApp View Once: How to send view once photos and videos on WhatsApp

Snapchat and Instagram have self-destructing photos and videos within the app, and WhatsApp has followed suit. WhatsApp View Once feature has been introduced for added privacy and better user experience. As the name suggests, the photo or video that you send disappears automatically after the recipient has opened it once. The photo or video will disappear from everywhere and hence, cannot be forwarded, shared, starred, or saved by the recipient on his/her device. For using the WhatsApp View Once feature, you need to have the latest version of the app on your smartphone. Here’s all that you need to know about the simple yet important WhatsApp View Once feature that provides you with more control over your privacy.

What is WhatsApp View Once feature?

WhatsApp view once feature

So, what exactly is WhatsApp View Once feature? In simple terms, it is a feature that lets you send self-destructing media, wherein the photo or video is automatically deleted after the recipient has opened it. Media sent or received using WhatsApp View Once feature cannot be forwarded, saved, starred, and shared. It does not get saved to the photo gallery even if the ‘automatically save photos or videos’ feature is turned on his/her device. Moreover, if the photo or video is not opened by the recipient within 14 days, it will expire automatically. You, as a sender, also won’t be able to view it again, but you will get to know if the recipient opens the photo/video (only if the read receipt feature is turned on). WhatsApp View Once feature is also protected by end-to-end encryption, meaning even WhatsApp cannot access the media, similar to personal messages.

Despite all the safety measures, it is still advisable to send photos and videos using WhatsApp View Once feature only to trusted people as there is a small glitch – this feature is not supported by the screen detection feature. Although the media will be deleted after it has been viewed once, the recipient can still take a screenshot, or record it using a screen recorder or capture it using some other smartphone or secondary device. Hence, you need to be careful and share media with trusted contacts only even if you are using the WhatsApp View Once feature.

How to send view once photos and videos on WhatsApp

It is quite simple to send View Once photos and videos on WhatsApp. Just follow these steps:

How to send WhatsApp view once feature
  • First, you need to ensure that you have the latest version of WhatsApp on your device. If not, then update from Google Play Store or Apple App Store to enable WhatsApp View Once media sharing feature.
  • Once done, open the chat window of the person to whom you want to send the photo or video.
  • Next, select the media (photo or video) and tap on the small circle with ‘1’ written on it in the dialogue box to share the photo or video with WhatsApp View Once feature. So, the media will disappear automatically after the receiver opens it once.

You can use these steps to send media to an individual and to a group on WhatsApp. In order to see who has seen or opened the sent photo or video, you can select the particular WhatsApp View Once message and swipe right. You will get a new window that will show whether the message has been open or seen the recipient(s).

Please note that you need to select WhatsApp View Once feature every time you wish to send a self-destructing photo/video.

FAQs

How to save View Once WhatsApp photos and videos on your device?

You cannot save WhatsApp View Once photos and videos on your device, even if the feature to ‘automatically save photos or videos’ is enabled on your device. Moreover, saving a WhatsApp View Once media defeats the sole purpose of this feature. However, if you still need to save the View Once WhatsApp photo or video, you can manage to do so as WhatsApp View Once media is not supported by the screen detection feature. This means that you can take a screenshot, or record using a screen recorder, or capture the media using a secondary device like another smartphone.

Can the recipient report WhatsApp View Once photo/video?

Yes, the recipient can report WhatsApp View Once photo/video. Although the WhatsApp View Once feature is protected by end-to-end encryption, if a recipient chooses to report it, then the media will be provided to WhatsApp. Encrypted media may be stored on WhatsApp’s servers for a few weeks after it has been sent.