WhatsApp to soon allow storing disappearing chats, view past group members

Here are the latest features that may soon come to your WhatsApp

Highlights
  • WhatsApp is working on new feature sets to increase the functionality and usability of the platform
  • WhatsApp could now allow participants to keep disappearing chats even after they have expired
  • WhatsApp could also allow participants to check past group members 

Meta-owned instant messaging service, WhatsApp, is working on a set of new features to improve functionality and enable users further. As per new reports, WhatsApp might soon bring substantial changes to how disappearing messages work. The Menlo Park-based firm is also planning to bring changes to how members of group chats are displayed to a user. WhatsApp has brought in multiple evolutionary changes to its platform over the years and has multiple other new features in the pipeline as well. 

Show Full Article

WhatsApp to introduce a new disappearing messages feature

According to new reports from WABetaInfo, the instant messaging platform could soon allow its users to keep messages even after expiration. Disappearing messages can not be star marked but will be allowed to be ‘kept’. These messages that will be kept can later be accessed in a section called ‘Kept Messages’ even after the message has expired. However, there might be some limitations to this feature’s functionality in promoting privacy. Admins in groups are likely to have control over this feature’s active status. 

It’s, however, unclear as to when the feature will be rolled out to beta testers. 

WhatsApp for iOS might soon display past participants in group chats 

WhatsApp’s group feature is about to get a new feature that would allow participants to leave the group without notifying the other participants. However, admins will be notified about this when a participant leaves. 

Now, its been reported by WABetaInfo, that iOS users could get a new feature which creates a section that displays ‘Past Participants’. This feature would allow all participants, not only admins, in the group to see who has left or been removed from the group in the past 60 days.